Buddhism and the ”Lotus Sutra”

Three Realms of Existence

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
    • #2201
      Profile photo of FrazerFlavFrazerFlav

      The Three Realms of Existence views life from Three different standpoints and explains the existance of individual lives in the real world.

      1) The Realm of Five Componets: An analysis of the nature of a living entity in terms of how it responds to it’s suroundings.
      A)Form – Everthing that constitutes the body and it’s sense organs through which one percives the outer world.
      B) Perception – Recieving or apprehending external information through one’s sense organs.
      C) Conception – which grasps and forms some idea or concept about what is prercerived.
      D) Volition (Will) – to initiate action based on the creation of conceptions about what has been perceived.
      E) Consciousness – Discernment that intergrate the components of perception, conception, and volition. Distinguishing an object from all others by it’s characteristics, thereby exerecising value judgments, such as the difference between Right and Wrong. Consciousness is reagarded as the mind itself.
      Form corsponds to the physical aspect of life while the other four, to the spiritual.

      2) The Realm of Living Beings: The individual living being, formed of a temporary union of the Five Components which is manifested in any of the Ten Worlds. No one is an isolated being, therefore, it is to be taken as a collective body of individuals who interact and are interdependent with one another.

      3) The Realm of Eviornment:The place or land where living beings dwell and carry out life-activities. The state of the land is a reflection of the state of life of the people who live in it. A land manifest any of the Ten Worlds according to which of the Ten worlds dominate in the lives of it’s inhabitances. The same land also maifests differnt worlds for different individuals. Nichiren Shonin states: “There are not two lands, pure and impure in themselves. The difference lies soly in the good or evil of our minds”.

      (TEN WORLDS: Hell, Hunger, Anger, Animality, Tranquility(Humainity), Rapture, Learning, Absorption, Bodhisattava, and Buddha) Someone in the world of Hell will perceive, form a conception of, and react to the same object in a completely differnt manner than someone in the world of Bodhisattava. The World of Buddha is uneffected and not subject to or by any of the lower Nine Worlds. But is intergral and fuctions through out all of them.

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.